Details

Our Memory Like Dust


Our Memory Like Dust



von: Gavin Chait

11,99 €

Verlag: Transworld Publishers
Format: EPUB
Veröffentl.: 27.07.2017
ISBN/EAN: 9781473527225
Sprache: englisch
Anzahl Seiten: 400

DRM-geschütztes eBook, Sie benötigen z.B. Adobe Digital Editions und eine Adobe ID zum Lesen.

Beschreibungen

Why do we tell stories? To hold on to what has been loved and lost, to create new myths, to explain and teach in ways that seep into memory.Shakiso Collard leads the evacuation from Benghazi as jihadis overwhelm the refugee camp where she works. On arrival in Paris, she is betrayed by her boss, Oktar Samboa, and watches in despair as those she illegally helped escape are deported back to the warzones of Libya. Elsewhere, Farinata Uberti – strongman CEO of Rosneft, the world’s largest energy company – arrives in London after triggering a violent insurrection in Tanzania to destroy a potential rival in the oil market. In the Sahara, an air convoy on its way to deliver billions of dollars of drugs and weapons to Ansar Dine jihadis crashes and is lost. A year later, having spent months in hiding, Shakiso travels to West Africa. She is there to lead the relief effort that are hoping to stop the 200 million refugees fleeing war and environmental collapse heading for a fortified and fragmented Europe.As the myths of these millions seeking new lives across the Mediterranean intrude into reality, Shakiso is drawn into the brutal clandestine fight against Rosneft’s domination of European energy supplies being conducted by the mysterious Simon Adaro. And, deep within the disorienting Harmattan storms of the desert, a group of jihadis have gone in search of the crashed convoy of planes - and a terror that could overwhelm them all.
Resonating with today's headlines, the author of the acclaimed Lament for the Fallen looks to a future at once tainted with despair but buoyed up by hope in his second, extraordinary novel - a must-read for fans of Lauren Beukes and Nnedi Okorafor as much as David Mitchell, Michel Faber and Emily St John Mandel.
Born in Cape Town in 1974, Gavin Chait emigrated to the UK nearly ten years ago. He has degrees in Microbiology & Biochemistry, and Electrical Engineering. He is an economic development strategist and data scientist, and has travelled extensively in Africa, Latin America, Europe and Asia and is now based in Oxford. His first novel, Lament for the Fallen, was critically acclaimed (Eric Brown in the Guardian called it ‘a compulsively readable, life affirming tale’). Our Memory Like Dust is his second.

Diese Produkte könnten Sie auch interessieren:

Unterwerfung
Unterwerfung
von: Michel Houellebecq
EPUB ebook MOBI ebook
9,99 €
Eine Bluse macht noch keinen Sommer
Eine Bluse macht noch keinen Sommer
von: Guido Maria Kretschmer
EPUB ebook
7,99 €
Kinder der Freiheit
Kinder der Freiheit
von: Ken Follett
EPUB ebook
9,99 €